The Sacred 12 Islamic Months Names: Understanding Hijri Calendar

The Sacred 12 Islamic Months Names: Understanding Hijri Calendar

Islamic Months Names: Understanding the Lunar Calendar’s Timeless Traditions

Have you ever wondered about the significance and meaning behind the names of the Islamic months? Islamic months hold great importance in the lives of Muslims around the world, as they mark various religious occasions and events.

Islamic Calendar

The Islamic calendar, also known as the Hijri calendar, is a remarkable lunar calendar that measures time through the cyclical phases of the moon. It spans 354 or 355 days, making it shorter than the Gregorian solar calendar we commonly use. Despite this difference, the Islamic calendar is hailed as one of the most accurate calendars worldwide, owing to its precision in aligning with astronomical phenomena.

Islamic Months Names

Each year in the Islamic calendar begins with the sighting of the new moon, and its months are marked by the waxing and waning of this celestial luminary. This lunar rhythm distinguishes it from the Gregorian calendar, which is determined by the Earth’s orbit around the sun.

The Islamic calendar’s captivating world comprises twelve months, each carrying its own significance and historical importance. From the sacred month of Muharram to the joyous celebrations of Ramadan and beyond, Muslims around the world honor and commemorate these months with devotion and reverence.

Special Occasions in Each Month

In the Islamic calendar, each month holds special occasions and events that carry religious and cultural significance for Muslims. Let’s explore some of the notable occasions celebrated in each month:

1. Muharram: Day of Ashura

The 10th day of Muharram marks the martyrdom of Imam Hussain, the grandson of Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him), at the Battle of Karbala. It is a day of mourning and reflection for Shia Muslims.

2. Rabi’ al-Awwal: Eid Milad-un-Nabi

Also known as Mawlid or the Prophet’s birthday, it is celebrated in the third month of Rabi’ al-Awwal to honor the birth of Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).

3. Ramadan: The Holy Month of Fasting

Ramadan is the ninth month and the holiest in the Islamic calendar. Muslims observe fasting from dawn to sunset during this month as an act of spiritual reflection, self-discipline, and increased devotion to Allah.

4. Shawwal: Eid al-Fitr

Celebrated on the first day of Shawwal, Eid al-Fitr marks the end of Ramadan. It is a joyous occasion when Muslims gather for communal prayers, share feasts, and give charity to the less fortunate.

5. Dhu al-Hijjah: Hajj

The annual pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca, which is an obligation for all Muslims who are physically and financially able to perform it, takes place in this month. It is the largest gathering of Muslims from around the world.

6. Dhul-Qidah: The Month of Truce

Dhul-Qidah is one of the four sacred months in the Islamic calendar, during which fighting was historically prohibited. It is a time of peace and reflection.

12 Islamic Months Names

1. Muharram (محرم) – Forbidden, sacred

The Islamic year begins with Muharram, the first month of the lunar calendar. It holds deep historical significance for Muslims as it marks the migration of Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) from Mecca to Medina, known as the Hijra. Muharram is a time of reflection and remembrance, especially on the 10th day, known as Ashura, when Muslims commemorate the martyrdom of Imam Hussain, the grandson of Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).

2. Safar (صفر) – Void

Safar is the second month of the Islamic calendar, and it’s a time often associated with superstitions and myths in pre-Islamic Arabia. However, Islam teaches us to reject such beliefs and rely solely on Allah’s guidance and mercy. The Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) emphasized the importance of dismissing superstitions and placing trust in Allah alone.

3. Rabi’ al-Awwal (ربيع الأول) – The first spring

Rabi’ al-Awwal is a month of celebration for Muslims worldwide, as it marks the birth of the beloved Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him). Milad-un-Nabi, the observance of the Prophet’s birthday, is celebrated with joy, charity, and gatherings to learn about the Prophet’s life and teachings.

4. Rabi’ al-Thani (ربيع الثاني) – The second spring

The fourth month of the Islamic calendar, Rabi’ al-Thani, is a time for reflection and seeking closeness to Allah. Muslims use this month to renew their commitment to faith and spiritual growth.

5. Jumada al-Awwal (جمادى الأول) – The first of parched land

Jumada al-Awwal marks the beginning of the pre-Islamic truce period, a time when conflicts were set aside to allow for peaceful pilgrimage. This practice eventually influenced the concept of “Haram” months, wherein fighting was forbidden.

6. Jumada al-Thani (جمادى الثاني) – The second of parched land

The sixth month is a continuation of the pre-Islamic truce period. Muslims take this time to focus on promoting peace, understanding, and cooperation among one another.

7. Rajab (رجب) – Respect, honor

Rajab is considered one of the sacred months in Islam, alongside Muharram, Dhul-Qidah, and Dhul-Hijjah. It’s a month of spiritual significance, and Muslims often engage in additional prayers and acts of devotion during this time.

8. Sha’ban (شعبان) – Scattered

Sha’ban precedes the holy month of Ramadan, and it is a time when Muslims prepare themselves for the blessed month ahead. The 15th night of Sha’ban, known as Laylat al-Bara’ah or the Night of Forgiveness, is believed to be a night of forgiveness and blessings.

9. Ramadan (رمضان) – Burning heat

The ninth month of the Islamic calendar is Ramadan, a month of fasting, prayer, and spiritual reflection. It is the holiest month for Muslims, as it commemorates the revelation of the Quran to Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).

10. Shawwal (شوال) – Raised

Shawwal is the month following Ramadan, and it includes the joyous celebration of Eid al-Fitr. Muslims mark the end of Ramadan with communal prayers and acts of charity during this festive occasion.

11. Dhu al-Qa’dah (ذو القعدة) – The one of truce/sitting

Dhul-Qidah is another sacred month in Islam, where fighting was historically prohibited. This month marks the lead-up to the pilgrimage season, Hajj, which takes place in the following month.

12. Dhu al-Hijjah (ذو الحجة) – The one of the pilgrimage

Dhul-Hijjah is the final month of the Islamic calendar and holds immense significance for Muslims worldwide. It is during this month that the annual Hajj pilgrimage to Mecca takes place, culminating in the celebration of Eid al-Adha, the Festival of Sacrifice.


We hope this blog post has helped you understand the 12 Islamic months and the Hijri calendar. If you have any further questions, please feel free to leave a comment below.

Thank you for reading!

Learn More:

Useful Tools